My Bitchin’ Wing Sauce/Spicy Chicken Marinade

The following is one of my many thrown together recipes. I have no formal culinary training, just a passion for food and good beer (and way too much Food Network viewings to not have picked up some ideas!).

My Bitchin’ Wing Sauce/Spicy Chicken Marinade:

OK, so I usually make only enough for about 8 chicken tenders/12-15 wings (boneless as well), so you can scale up from here;

2 tbsp whole butter

1-2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed (depending on size, you can also use about a tsp of pre-minced from a jar)

1/8 tsp fresh cracked peppercorns

1 oz water

1 1/2 oz vinegar based cayenne sauce (brand isn’t important, store brand works just as good as Frank’s or Tabasco)

1/8 tsp polvo de chili powder (I use Badia because there’s a huge latin foods section in my local grocer)

1 tsp light agave nectar (or to taste)

squeeze fresh lime juice (lemon will work, but I prefer the taste of lime with spice)

Heat on low in small pot; begin with butter and garlic, add water, cayenne sauce and chili powder, simmer 5-6 mins, then add cracked peppercorns, lime juice and agave nectar to taste. Cool slightly and toss with chicken implements of your choice!

Side note: I love garlic, so I tend to be a little heavy-handed with it in recipes…feel free to scale back if you’re not into the garlic as much! Enjoy!

~ by tatterednotes on November 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

